# Can I access a colleagues inbox or check their mail account?
Last updated: 18/11/18 at 22:22
Yes, but only if the right permissions are in place.
There are 2 different levels of permission when sharing mailboxes.
- Full access
- Users with 'send-as'
Full Access Permission
This will give the selected user full access to the mailbox as if they were logged in as the user. With these permissions in place, they can not only send mail but can also move, create and delete mail.
If a mailbox is granted send as permissions, that mailbox user has the ability to send email as though they are logged in as the selected mailbox user. Permission will only given to send messages on behalf of the shared mail account; they will have no visibility of data, calendar information, contacts or tasks.
How to give another user permission to access your mailbox
We can update permissions on your mailbox, so please raise a new support request if you'd like us to do this.
Alternatively, you can update permissions yourself within Microsoft Outlook.